Ice Cream vs. Frozen Dessert

My husband and I love ice cream.  Almost every night, we’ll have half a mugful in those lingering hours after dinner and before bedtime.  It was after we purchased a couple of containers that I noticed something odd: some of the containers said “ice cream” and some said “frozen dessert.”  Here’s an example of what I mean.

On the left is a picture of the Breyers Vanilla Ice Cream.  On the right is a picture of Breyers Vanilla Frozen Dessert:

I’m not sure it’s a regulation or not, but it seems that in Canada, your ice cream must be made with 100% Canadian milk in order to earn the title of “ice cream.”

I don’t believe there is such a name distinction in the States.  Everything I’ve ever had is called “ice cream,” and you have to read the label to find out what’s in it.

There is one other difference between the two: the price!  Frozen Dessert, as you can probably guess, tends to be much cheaper!

So what’s in our freezer?  Nothing right now, so I’m off to the market to get something cool and creamy, whether it be “ice cream” or “frozen dessert.”

About iammonicasue

I'm just gal who was born and raised in So Cal, who has lived my whole life in California... until now. I moved to Toronto in August 2010 and this is my blog about the differences I'm discovering between the home I came from and the home I'm getting to know.
This entry was posted in Product Differences. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ice Cream vs. Frozen Dessert

  1. Doug says:

    With the frozen desserts they’ll also make some other substitutions like using palm oil instead of milk. In the US the main regulation I’m aware of is that the air content is regulated (you can’t just keep fluffing it up and still call it ice cream – I think the rule is some weight per gallon) and you have to have some % of milk solids minimum and some % of milkfat minimum. They don’t care where the milk comes from…

  2. Jen Disney says:

    You know…. I often say, I like pretty much any sort of frozen dessert type item. So this “frozen dessert” would definitely fit into that category. 🙂 Ice cream by any other name is just as sweet, right? 🙂

  3. iammonicasue says:

    Hey Jen, you’ll notice I didn’t say I wouldn’t buy the “frozen dessert.” Here’s to anything that’s smooth, creamy and sweet!

Leave a Reply

