Nobody Walks In LA

The 80s band Missing Persons did get this one right: nobody walks in LA.  Unless, of course, you’re walking from your car to your destination, because you had to park so far away.  But, otherwise, nobody walks in LA or most of SoCal.  That’s because it’s too dang spread out and the public transportation is abysmal.  (Hats off to my friend Darron who rode the LA bus system throughout his twenties.  There’s a man with a lot of patience.)

But here in Toronto, it’s a walkin’ kind of place!  We’re kind of on the edge of the “city” and the suburbs (even though our address is “Toronto”), and even here, everybody’s out walking.  We’re within walking distance to the subway, which my husband takes to school and which I take about once a week for an outing in the city.  But right here, we are able to walk to our bank, the drugstore, the library, the mall and the community centre (that’s right, centre).  And my favorite thing to do is to grab a backpack and walk to my really cool supermarket (post on that to follow).

One of the things I love about walking so much is that you get to see and be amongst the people you live near.  I’ve taken to giving each person I pass a smile or a quick hello.  It’s amazing how many people brighten up and are cheered by such a simple greeting.

Gotta’ admit, I love the fact that we get to walk so much.  Not sure how much walking I’ll do when it’s really cold.  But for now, I’m enjoying that we don’t have to drive a car to live every aspect of our lives anymore.  Toronto has it all over SoCal in this respect!

About iammonicasue

I'm just gal who was born and raised in So Cal, who has lived my whole life in California... until now. I moved to Toronto in August 2010 and this is my blog about the differences I'm discovering between the home I came from and the home I'm getting to know.
This entry was posted in Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

