Can’t watch it on Hulu

One of the weirdest things to get used to up here in Canada is the fact that we don’t have access to all the same sites on the internet as in the United States.  Case in point is Hulu. If I try to access Hulu.com up here in Canada, the following is what I see:

“Sorry, currently our video library can only be streamed from within the United States”

I get similar shut-outs for videos on major networks, like NBC, Fox and even Comedy Central!  Bet you didn’t know you were that special, did you USA?

We don’t have a television in our apartment, so how am I supposed to keep with my favorite shows House, 30 Rock and Glee if I have no Hulu?

Turns out, it’s going to be easier than I thought!  The three major TV networks up here –  GlobalTV, CTV and CityTV – all have website that stream their current programming, sometimes the same night that it airs!  No more waiting 8 days for the latest episode of House!  And the quality is pretty good, too.  CTV even has episodes of Mad Men going back to the beginning, so I’m finally starting to get hooked on that.

The weird thing is figuring out what airs on which networks’ websites.  I thought that the shows would be grouped by their US network – Fox, ABC, NBC, CBS, etc. – but they’re not. For example,  CTV has Castle (ABC), Big Bang Theory (CBS) and The Daily Show (Comedy Central). Each Canadian network has a hodgepodge of shows.  It’ll take me a while to remember who is airing what, but I think I can handle that.  And if I’m curious, I can also watch some specifically Canadian shows like Dan for Mayor, Hiccups or Road Hockey Rumble. (Of course, that last one is Canadian, right?)

Up until this past week, there was no Netflix in Canada either.  But Netflix just started a streaming-video-only service here, which doesn’t yet seem to have the same selection as in the US, but I bet Netflix makes this fly.

So, as for media, I’m all set.  Thank you, Canada!  (Now if you could only convince Target to come up north…)

About iammonicasue

I'm just gal who was born and raised in So Cal, who has lived my whole life in California... until now. I moved to Toronto in August 2010 and this is my blog about the differences I'm discovering between the home I came from and the home I'm getting to know.
This entry was posted in Culture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can’t watch it on Hulu

  1. Jen says:

    So glad you’re starting on Mad Men. Seriously worth the watch.

    • iammonicasue says:

      Thanks, Jen! Yeah, I’m getting addicted to it. I can feel it. I don’t think Matthew likes it because the characters are kind of jerks. But, since I was born in 1970, there’s something about the whole show that feels so familiar, but also so distant and odd at the same time. My parents were married in 1962. I’d love to hear their thoughts on the show.

Leave a Reply

