More Fun with Words!

Here are a couple more terms that have different meanings in Canada.

The Crown = The Government

This one is very British, I believe.  When I’m listening to a story on the radio, particularly about a trial of some kind, the reporter will inevitably say something like, “The Crown’s case against the defendant was based on solid evidence.” It makes it sound so high-flalutin’!

Arena = Ice Rink

Driving around the GTA (that’s Greater Toronto Area), I started noticing signs here and there for arenas.  I was starting to get impressed with the number of performance venues that all these neighborhoods seemed to have, until my husband pointed out to me that arena means hockey rink.  Suddenly, it made a lot more sense.

Marks = Grades

In Canada, grades are the level you are in at school, like Grade 1, Grade 2, etc.  Marks are what you earn on your exams and on your report card.  This is a simple one, but can cause a lot of confusion if you’re not aware.

And, finally…

remember, kids, up here this is how you spell the following words:

“Fulfil” and “Paediatrician!”

About iammonicasue

I'm just gal who was born and raised in So Cal, who has lived my whole life in California... until now. I moved to Toronto in August 2010 and this is my blog about the differences I'm discovering between the home I came from and the home I'm getting to know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Fun with Words!

  1. Chris says:

    I might need to kick out my 10 ten list for you for our Cross-Cultural SD in-service tonight! All your cultural insights are inspiring me.

Leave a Reply

