Canadians and Fur

Hey folks!  Sorry it’s been so long since I last posted.  I was using this blog to help me acclimate up here.  Every time I saw something that I found amusing or baffling, I’d write a post on it.

But after a while, I wasn’t noticing as many differences as I had before.  They were still there, but I just didn’t register them as all that odd or different.  I think that means my acclimatization process has been going along really well!

Nevertheless, over time, I have gathered up a few more differences that have struck me, and now I’m ready to start sharing again!  So, thanks for the wait.  Now on to….

CANADIANS AND FUR

I’ve been shopping for a new pair of boots lately.  When the weather is this cold, it’s best to have something warm on your feet.  My quest took me to the local mall, where I scoured the stores looking for something that I both liked and could afford.

That’s where I really noticed just how many people in Canada have clothing that has fur on it.  I’m not sure if it’s all fake fur or real fur, but either way, fur is welcome part of the fashion up here.

Fur is definitely not very common in So Cal.  I mean, why would it be?  If you wear anything with fur on it in So Cal, you’ve definitely made a fashion choice to do so.  Here’s it’s just part of what’s available on the clothing.

I think the point really hit home as I was shopping for boots.  I was in a store with some teenage girls and as we were all looking at the possible selection of boots, we saw a pair not unlike these: 

I thought these were ridiculous!  I mean, who in their right mind would want their feet to look like Chewbacca?

Well, apparently, Canadian teenagers would!  They ooh’d and ahh’d over these furry monstronsities, bummed that they couldn’t afford them.

That’s when I really looked at what everyone around me was wearing, and I saw lots of fur – on the edge of coats, on the inside of hats, on the cuffs of gloves, and tufts sticking out of the tops of boots.  My own Canadian clothing even made the point, as the hood of my winter coat is edged with fur (fake, I think) and my leather gloves have some on the cuffs as well.

Is this love affair with fur also shared by other colder regions or is it more of a Canadian thing?  I’m not sure, but I do know one thing.  I don’t care how cold my feet get; I am not wearing those silly boots!

About iammonicasue

I'm just gal who was born and raised in So Cal, who has lived my whole life in California... until now. I moved to Toronto in August 2010 and this is my blog about the differences I'm discovering between the home I came from and the home I'm getting to know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Canadians and Fur

  1. Kris Kahle says:

    I’m sorry to disagree with you Monica… but those boots are CUTE!!!

Leave a Reply

