How to Dress

As I’ve come to live during these colder days in Toronto, one of the main differences between how I live here and how I used to live in So Cal has to do with preparing to go outside.

Now, all you folks who live in climates where you experience actual “weather,” you may laugh (or feel envious) when I tell you that in So Cal, you almost never really worry about what you’re wearing before you go outside.  Usually, whatever clothes you have on will suffice, in general.  If it gets a bit chilly and you forgot a jacket, someone usually has a spare piece of clothing in their office, home or car that they can lend you to get by.

Here in Toronto, there is a whole ritual to go through before you go outside.  First, what exactly is the temperature?  How prepared do I need to be?  Second, you consider what you have on.  Will this suffice under my coat?  Do I need a sweater as well?  Will these socks be enough or is it cold enough today that I have to bring out the big woolly ones? Third, consider the extremities.   Do I need a scarf?  A hat?  Are these boots okay or do I need something more for snow?  Finally, as I don my winter coat, I check my pockets.  Are my gloves still there?  What about Kleenex for when my eyes start to water in the wind and my nose starts to run?

In So Cal, my biggest concern was how I looked.  Here in Toronto, it’s about whether I’m warm enough.  And you know what?  While fashion does exist, in general, folks don’t really mind what you look like or how bundled up you need to personally be in order to be warm. I really sense no judgment (or as they spell it: judgement), and that is actually a really nice thing.

So if you come to Toronto, don’t be afraid to dress like this:

 

 

No one will judge you!

About iammonicasue

I'm just gal who was born and raised in So Cal, who has lived my whole life in California... until now. I moved to Toronto in August 2010 and this is my blog about the differences I'm discovering between the home I came from and the home I'm getting to know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Dress

  1. shelley says:

    Mon, you make me chuckle! I am SO the opposite–grew up all the questions you are learning to ask now. And now not caring how out of date my coat is. It is a warm, down full-length parka and I still love it. Never cold!

    On the flip, I remember the first time I saw a student in SoCal wearing a hat and pair of gloves for fashion. It was 50+ degrees and I could not, for the life of me, figure why she was so cold and why she kept wearing said hat and gloves inside the church. And with no coat!

    A hint for a few weeks down the road–it can be REALLY cold here. Check the temps. Dress warm and comfy. No one will judge you here, either. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

