Sadly, Not So Different…

So, the other day I was at my favorite Chinese supermarket, Tone Tai, when I saw and heard a large, angry Caucasian man go to the front counter and ask loudly, “Does anyone here speak English?”

I don’t know what he was so upset about, but I didn’t stay around to find out.  I moved past him quickly and got into a checkout line.

As I waited my turn, I saw him leave.  He was still fuming as I heard him complain loudly to his companion.  “… they move here to my country, they should learn to speak my language!!”

I was so tempted go up to him and say, “Excusez moi, parlez vous francais?”

After all, this is Canada, so he should learn the language, right?

About iammonicasue

I'm just gal who was born and raised in So Cal, who has lived my whole life in California... until now. I moved to Toronto in August 2010 and this is my blog about the differences I'm discovering between the home I came from and the home I'm getting to know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

