Back to Musing

It’s weird that the last time I posted on this blog was in January – almost four months ago. I began this blog as a kind of therapeutic aid, really. I had never lived in another country before, and writing posts gave me a place to process and chronicle all of the differences I was noticing between the two cultures. It helped to orient me during my transition of living in one culture to another. Ideas for blog posts would simply pop up in my mind as I journeyed through my new surroundings here in Canada, and writing them was a way to process what I was discovering.

I stopped posting, however, when the differences between “here” and “there” started to fade from my attention. When ideas no longer popped up before me unbidden, it felt to me that maybe the time of my transition (and by extension the time of my blog postings) was over. So I simply stopped writing and left my blog alone like a fallow field.

You can imagine my surprise, then, when the other morning, I awoke and could barely write fast enough to catch all the ideas that were flowing out of my mind. For some reason, nine months after we moved to Canada, the differences are popping up again for me – in large amounts, it seems!

I don’t really understand why. Maybe some of you who have had cross-cultural experiences will have some wisdom to share on this. Nevertheless, I’m feeling called to begin again, chronicling my observations of the differences in my culture “back home” and the culture I’m in now.

So get ready for another round of a “A So Cal Gal in Toronto!” The texture and tone might seem a bit different. Let me know if you notice that, as I’m in a different place than I was when I first began.

I hope you enjoy my renewed musings.

About iammonicasue

I'm just gal who was born and raised in So Cal, who has lived my whole life in California... until now. I moved to Toronto in August 2010 and this is my blog about the differences I'm discovering between the home I came from and the home I'm getting to know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to Musing

  1. Tom Unfried says:

    So you’re saying the tone will be different, eh?

  2. Betsy says:

    hurrah for YOU dear lady on my RSS feed, since I’m not on Facebook!
    Write away.

Leave a Reply

