Yes, Please, and Thank You, Ma’am.

One of the things that my husband and I continue to be impressed by up here in Toronto is the children we meet. No matter how old they are, they tend to be very well-behaved. That’s not to say that they don’t still act like children. They love to play, laugh and tease one another. But when their parents call them, they usually come quickly without much complaint, whining or defiance.

Several times now, we’ve met parents who want us also to meet their children. They call the kids away from what they are doing, and the children come over to meet us. The kids stand there politely and say hello to us, waiting for their parents to dismiss them so they can go back to what they were doing before. It’s so charming and delightful to see!

We’ve been in many social gatherings with children and, while they still act like kids, none of them are too boisterous, obnoxious or out of control. It’s like the kids here know that they have a place in society and they know what is expected of them.

Unlike in So Cal, I’ve never seen a child out of control in a store or other public place and I’ve never seen parents have to bribe their children to behave here. I’m not exactly sure how they do it, but my husband and I both like it a lot and would love to learn the Canadian secret of well-behaved and polite children.

About iammonicasue

I'm just gal who was born and raised in So Cal, who has lived my whole life in California... until now. I moved to Toronto in August 2010 and this is my blog about the differences I'm discovering between the home I came from and the home I'm getting to know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yes, Please, and Thank You, Ma’am.

  1. Katie K says:

    I’m sure some of this is due to cultural parenting style differences; however, one of the first things I wondered was whether Canadian kids eat differently. Here in America, we tend to pump our kids full of artificial flavors, colors, and preservatives. While I’m not fully ready to accept that these things are the sole causes for ADHD, autism, and just plain bad behavior, it seems like there might be some kind of connection. I dunno, I’m not a scientist or anything and I suppose if Canadian kids eat just as badly as American kids then there’s nothing to this theory, I just find the “nature vs. nurture” discussion to be fascinating.

  2. iammonicasue says:

    I agree, Katie! We’re not exactly sure what causes it. But we can’t help but notice the difference. I’m not exactly sure what kids eat up here, but I do know that culturally Canadians are a lot more reserved and “polite” in general, so maybe they’re just really good at passing that on to their kids. Also, I understand that their school system outranks ours a ton.

Leave a Reply

